Certification Classes

About Certification Classes

The Texas Wine School is a proud approved provider for WSET and Wine Scholar Guild certification classes. We also offer the Certified Sherry Wine Specialist and our own Specialist of Texas Wine certification class.

WSET classes are occasionally offered in Fredericksburg and Lubbock, but all the other classes are held at our location in Houston. The Wine & Spirit Education Trust (WSET) Level 1 class is typically offered over three weeks, for three hours per night, once a week. This course is perfectly suited for beginners, and will cover, in broad strokes, the world of wine.

WSET Level 2 is twice as long and gets into much greater detail, again covering the world of wine. WSET Level 1 is NOT a prerequisite, and many students choose to skip Level 1 and dive right into Level 2. This is a great option for those in the trade, or who have been collecting wine or traveling to wine regions. The course is typically offered over six weeks, and is occasionally offered as an intensive class.

WSET Level 3 is twice as long again as Level 2, focusing in much greater depth on viticulture and winemaking, and how they influence the style, quality and price of a wine. While Level 2 is not a prerequisite, it is rarely recommended that a student skip Level 2, which provides a solid foundation about wines from all over the world. WSET Level 3 is a twelve week course that culminates in a two-part (tasting and theory) exam. Learn more >

We also offer some regional certifications, such as the Specialist of Texas Wine and Italian Wine Essentials, that are short and aim for breadth rather than depth of material covered. The French Wine Scholar (FWS) and Italian Wine Scholar programs, both created by the Wine Scholar Guild, are in-depth, comprehensive courses on these regions. We strongly recommend that students take WSET Level 2 (or have equivalent knowledge) before taking these courses.

From $250

The WSET Level 1 wine education class will introduce students, at a basic level, to the main styles of wine available, wine storage, and food and wine pairings.

From $700

This course provides vocational training in the broad range of alcoholic beverages to underpin job skills and competencies in the customer service and sales functions of the hospitality, retail, and wholesale industries.

From $1200

The WSET Level 3 Award in Wines and Spirits Wine Education Class is designed to give a thorough understanding of the principal wines and spirits of the world and their commercial importance in the world’s…

From $1200

Offered by The Texas Wine School based in Houston, Texas, the Level 3 Certificate is geared towards wine professionals looking to advance their career and gain increased confidence, leadership, and decision-making.