Cost – $3,200
What you’ll learn
Students will learn the principal wine regions of the world: from viticulture to winemaking, the choices at each stage and how they impact the ultimate wine’s style, quality and price; how wines compare in style quality and price from region to region; the impact of wine law and business concerns, including transportation and marketing.
The course will be held over 8 days, broken into 4 blocks of two days each. An additional 170 hours of independent study time is recommended.
The exam spans two days and involves:
- Day 1 – a two-hour open response exam followed by an 80-minute open response exam
- Day 2 – two 90-minute blind tastings of six wines each
Students must take both the theory and the tasting exams, unless they have previously taken the D3 exam and passed a single portion (in which case they only need to re-sit the portion they failed). Resit fees are $500 for the tasting exam, and $350 for the theory exam.
Students must be registered for the Diploma program, and have taken the Units 1 & 2 exams before starting Unit 3.
The Diploma is only offered in English. The Texas Wine School is not equipped to provide support for students who do not speak English fluently.
Students with special educational needs or disabilities should reach out to [email protected] with requests for accommodations.
For more details and specific learning objectives for the course, review the Course Specification.
Cancellation / Refund Policy
Registration fees are non-refundable. Cancellations of a class prior to receiving course materials and at least 48-hours prior to the first class are eligible for a full refund. If a student has received course-specific materials, but cancels more than one week before the first class, the student is eligible for a partial refund. Cancellations within one week of the first class are eligible for course credit only.
The exams and assessments for WSET Level 4 courses have fixed exam dates, registration deadlines and re-sit fees. Exam fees are included in the cost of the course.
When you register for a WSET course, you are booked to take your exam on a specific date. This date is indicated in your course schedule.
If you know in advance that you are unable to take the exam on the scheduled date, you must notify The Texas Wine School ([email protected] at least 75 days before the exam date, in writing. Students can move to another scheduled exam date for a $40 fee. We are NOT able to be flexible with exam times, and can only offer exams in accordance with WSET approved dates.
Postponing an exam date made within 75 days of the originally scheduled exam date will result in a full exam fee of $850.
In the event of a personal or family emergency, fees may be waived, subject to verification and approval from WSET.